UBB.threads ™ *>*>The North Face Guru's White List of eBay Sellers<*<* Infopop Corporation.

Discussion of Sellers >> Good eBayers, Buys, Retailers - USA & Canada

Pages: 1 | 2 | >> (show all)
silvermendacity
stranger


Reged: 12/26/06
Posts: 6
Loc: South Bend, IN
Question about an e-bay retailer.
      #6104 - 12/27/06 01:46 AM

Hey guys! Happy after-Christmas. Quick question (with more to follow, probably): I just won an auction for a North Face Foxy Suede women's jacket---I bid $199 (the buy-it-now was $325). The seller is gotyourgear. Has anyone worked with this guy before? He has over 19000 feedback. What are my chances of getting an authentic TNF jacket?

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
andrewModerator
The Enlightened Spartan


Reged: 10/29/05
Posts: 1253
Loc: Greenwich, London, U.K.
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: silvermendacity]
      #6107 - 12/27/06 04:13 AM

welcome silvermendacity,

i haven't personally bought from him and i dont know anyone who has.
his stuff looks legit but their not much detailed pics.

he's not on the whitelist but if your item comes up good then that might change.
he has an interesting review for which i am awaiting a reply from an email i sent him a couple of days ago, but they are closed till the holidays are over.

please keep us posted.

--------------------


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Bilbo_BagginsAdministrator
Guru


Reged: 02/23/06
Posts: 2789
Loc: Dallas, Texas
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: andrew]
      #6109 - 12/27/06 04:24 AM

I don't like the use of so many stock photos, but the items are not the standard fakes, so maybe it'll turn out good.

Please keep us informed!

--------------------
They who .. give up .. liberty for .. security,deserve neither liberty or security-Ben Franklin 1759


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
andrewModerator
The Enlightened Spartan


Reged: 10/29/05
Posts: 1253
Loc: Greenwich, London, U.K.
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: Bilbo_Baggins]
      #6111 - 12/27/06 04:34 AM

sorry i forgot to add the link for the review:
http://reviews.ebay.com/FAKE-North-Face-Products_W0QQugidZ10000000002126958

--------------------


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
silvermendacity
stranger


Reged: 12/26/06
Posts: 6
Loc: South Bend, IN
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: andrew]
      #6119 - 12/27/06 11:17 AM

Thanks guys. I'm not very familiar with The North Face, but I wanted to get a new jacket as I'll be snowboarding for the first time this winter. I'll post pics as soon as I get it.

Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
silvermendacity
stranger


Reged: 12/26/06
Posts: 6
Loc: South Bend, IN
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: silvermendacity]
      #6300 - 01/05/07 03:22 PM

Got my jacket! I had a moment of panic when I opened the box to find that the jacket didn't look at all like the picture on the NF website (which shows the tan jacket with white faux fur). Instead, this jacket had the tan exterior with a black interior, like the grey model. So I freaked out and called TNF, only to find out that their pre-production pictures of this model were incorrect, and that both colors were shipped this year with black lining and fur. Whee!

I'm feeling optimistic about this jacket, since it's a new model and I'm hoping no one's had a chance to make knock-offs yet. Here are some pictures (hope they work):

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/silvermendacity/jacket/DSCF0726.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/silvermendacity/jacket/DSCF0731.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/silvermendacity/jacket/DSCF0730.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/silvermendacity/jacket/DSCF0741.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/silvermendacity/jacket/DSCF0736.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/silvermendacity/jacket/DSCF0737.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/silvermendacity/jacket/DSCF0738.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v84/silvermendacity/jacket/DSCF0745.jpg

What do you guys think? Looks pretty good to me, but then again, I know nothing about the North Face


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
qwertyModerator
Guru


Reged: 02/25/06
Posts: 2609
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: silvermendacity]
      #6301 - 01/05/07 03:51 PM

The jacket looks authentic. It's got the new style tags, the large chunky zipper (of which I'm not a fan), and what TNF refers to as 'pant-a-locks'. The front TNF logo doesn't look great, but isn't offensive either. I'll assume the last photo is the google cloth?


Nice jacket.


Women's Foxy Suede Jacket:
http://www.thenorthface.com/opencms/opencms/tnf/gear.jsp?site=NA&model=AA8X


qwerty


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
silvermendacity
stranger


Reged: 12/26/06
Posts: 6
Loc: South Bend, IN
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: qwerty]
      #6302 - 01/05/07 04:00 PM

Yeah, that's the goggle cloth. I figured I'd just take pictures of all the logos I could find

I'm glad it's looking good so far. Thanks Qwerty


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
icecubez189
stranger


Reged: 01/09/05
Posts: 9
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: silvermendacity]
      #7043 - 02/08/07 07:39 PM

thanks for the redirect Andrew. im thinking about buying a McMurdo parka from this seller as well and it's good to hear that your jacket is real (it looks nice too).

Also, Andrew, have you received a response from the seller?

thanks


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
andrewModerator
The Enlightened Spartan


Reged: 10/29/05
Posts: 1253
Loc: Greenwich, London, U.K.
Re: Question about an e-bay retailer. [Re: icecubez189]
      #7062 - 02/09/07 03:21 PM

i never receive a reply but thats not to mean he doesn't sell genuine gear.
if there had been a particular item i was interested in i would have persued it and sent him additional questions.
he seems to be a big player in outdoor gear on ebay. 21,000 positive feedback.

if you look at his stuff for sale it is often top end TNF gear - freeriders etc along with brands such as 'black diamond' and 'scarpa' - the list goes on.
these items are all TOP range outdoor stuff.

i seriously doubt you will have any problems with a mcmurdo from this guy.
good luck.

--------------------


Post Extras: Print Post   Remind Me!   Notify Moderator  
Pages: 1 | 2 | >> (show all)



Extra information
0 registered and 2 anonymous users are browsing this forum.

Moderator:  DownhillTom, andrew, qwerty, blackdog, Steve_L, Ofelas 

Print Topic

Forum Permissions
      You cannot start new topics
      You cannot reply to topics
      HTML is disabled
      UBBCode is enabled

Rating:
Topic views: 7324

Rate this topic

Jump to

Contact Us The Guru's Home Page

*
UBB.threads™ 6.5